2010 RMS-AAPG Meeting
on this page:
  • 2010 RMS-AAPG Meeting
  • Organizing Committee & Contact Information
  • Meeting Schedule
  • Home

    View north from Fort Lewis College Campus up
    Animas Valley towards San Juan Mountains

    Please join us for the American Association of Petroleum Geologists - Rocky Mountain Section Meeting, June 13-16, 2010 in Durango, Colorado

    Hosted by the Four Corners Geological Society at Fort Lewis College.

    The 2010 AAPG Rocky Mountain Section meeting will be held in the scenic and historic city of Durango, Colorado. All meeting activities will take place at the Fort Lewis College “Campus in the Sky”, overlooking the City of Durango with incredible views of the La Plata and San Juan Mountains to the north. We will be in the heart of the energy-rich and scenic Four Corners area.

    Durango and the Four Corners area offer geological opportunities to warm the heart and engage the brain of any geologist. Ancient Precambrian sediments and metamorphic rocks outcrop in stunning alpine settings, earning the San Juan Mountains the nickname “Switzerland of America”. Colorful sediments and breathtaking vistas of the Utah desert “slickrock” country display evidence of a time when our area was covered in a vast desert. Cretaceous rocks tell of ancient shorelines and settings that created one of the largest gas-producing basins in the country. Add to the agenda opportunities to hike, river raft, tour the ancient ruins of a lost civilization, and ride the world famous narrow gauge train. It all adds up to a great meeting and we hope you can join us for the fun in June of 2010.

    back to top

    Fort Lewis College Campus, view west towards La Plata Mountains

    Organizing Committee & Contact Information:

    Meeting Chairs send email
    Jim Fassett
    Kim Miskell-Gerhardt
    Registration send email
    Kristi Nelson Cohen
    David Greenwood
    Technical Program send email
    Gary Gianniny
    Steve Hayden
    Field Trips send email
    Chip Head
    David Gonzales
    Short Courses send email
    Jason Hooten
    Exhibits and Vendors send email
    Steve Hines
    Volunteers send email
    Jeff Cary
    Sponsorships send email
    Tom Ann Casey
    Jim Hornbeck
    Finance send email
    Jim Hornbeck
    Joe Hewitt
    Publicity send email
    Ed Heath
    Jim Fassett
    Awards and Judging send email
    Alan Emmendorfer
    Lodging and Transportation send email
    Bob Owen
    Kim Miskell-Gerhardt
    Signs send email
    Pamela Leschak
    Tom Johnson

    back to top

    Meeting Schedule

    A detailed Meeting Schedule in PDF format is available by clicking here.

    Click to view a PDF of the Meeting Schedule in chart form

    back to top
    Meeting Facilities
    Special, Social & Guest Activities
    Area Attractions
    Transportation and Lodging

    FCGS Banner